So I have a Tumblr Now

Never really liked that place, over there, on the other end of the blogging island. Yeah, that one, the one covered in thick meme forest, barely perceptible beneath the endless streams of links and reblogs. That fenced area over there, that has grown so big you can barely see the rest of the blogosphere beneath its overreach of memes. That place is called Tumblr. It’s a microblogging place, they say. Like WordPress? Look man, I’m not here to talk about the geography of the internet. I just have one thing to say.

I’ve been sticking around WordPress for a hecka long times. At one time I moved to Blogspot, and then to Posterous (bless that dead service, I wish it good fortune in internet afterlife), but then I just eventually came back down to WordPress.  Nice place here. I get to post lots of jabbers, and sometimes people read them, and it makes me feel really nice when they favourite something I made because at least then I know that there are people reading them. Thing with the WordPress blog here is that, even with all the Aside post, I really would rather not clutter it too much with, say, half-arsed bits of stories I’ll probably never finish.

So instead I made a Tumblr blog for just that, bits of stories I’ll probably never finish. I have a problem with writing stories. Mostly they just end up being kept in vaults somewhere in the clouds, never to see the light of the day. I heard posting your work-in-progress can kill your motivation to finish it, but I don’t even have the motivation to begin with, so why not.

pseudomon.tumblr.com/ is now a place where I stash my writings and stories, work-in-progress, bits and pieces, things that may or may not actually be finished, usually without being proofread or even looked over first. It’s strictly for stories (at least for now), so I’ll continue to rant or post reviews here. I’ll probably also post finished stories here, edited and somewhat polished and all.

This whole posting-WIP thing stems from that, well, I was browsing through my older stories and some of them are actually pretty good, even if they’re unfinished and visibly unpolished. It’s unlikely that I’ll ever edit them to be good enough to show to actually show to people, but I still do want to show something to somebody out there, hence the Tumblr.

Was really looking for an alternative to Tumblr, since I still don’t like that jungle of memes and Anon wars. Was even thinking of setting up a Github Page, because I’m a hipster and all. But it’ll do for now, I think.

Still looking for alternatives, though. The Tumblr dashboard lags very very badly.

Leave a Reply

