Status Update

Haven’t been posting for a while, and I don’t have much in my head so I’ll just drop this in. Thinking of writing a book review later tonight, but as everything, that may or may not happen.

I’ve moved to Bandung for college. Going to major in astronomy, or perhaps physics. Hard science, the sorts. I’m living on my own for the first time. The loneliness is a slow-acting poison but the antidote is abundant if I just try hard enough.

Aside from basic necessities, I brought my guitar with me, along with some novels. There’s not a lot of them, and I’ve read them all, but I figured I’ll need them anyway. I picked some of my favourites, the sort that I can pick up on a boring/painful/headache-filled day and open on a random page to experience something transcendent, or at least just to enjoy for a while. The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver, The Goldfinch by Donna Tart, American Gods by Neil Gaiman, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Horns by Joe Hill, and Raising Steam by Terry Prachett. Also an entirely turd book by Dee, Supernova #1, but that’s something to discuss on another day.

Haven’t made much friends yet. I still spend my weekends with my family, when they visit. College gives so much more free time than high school though, it’s strange.

Still writing. There’s this project for a novel I’m working on. I hope it can get somewhere.

Leave a comment