Half a month to come up with a story

NaNoWriMo is coming up in about half amonth, which also means I have have half a month to get ready to write that novel.

Here’s the problem: I don’t have a story yet.

Yes, you do.

No, I don’t.

Whatever happened to that story then? Oh, and that? And that other one?

There is no that other one.

In any way, to be truthful, I do have a story. Two, actually. One a fanfic, also a backup plan. The other, fully original, is the one I’m seriously considering for NaNoWriMo.

Here’s the deal: I don’t have the story yet, for the latter one I mean. It has a concept, it has a loose plot that I might be able to go with without being distracted, it has characters that hopefully aren’t boring, and it has one heck of a nice setting. But it doesn’t have a story, and as much as I’ve tried these last few days, I just can’t get it down. My brain simply refuses to follow it through.It simply says, “Okay, so this is the basic premise. I don’t hate it. What else do you want me to do?”

It might be my fault, since most of the writings I’ve made are mostly made impromptu with little planning, which works fine by me. Sure, none of them are finished works, none of them any longer than… say, 50,000 words, but I like them anyway. Love them.

But this story that I’m trying to pan out for NaNo, it’s just not working well. I don’t love it.

The backup plan, the fanfic, on the other hand, already has one nice clean story. I just have to clean it up a bit here and there, fill up some loose holes, and improvise. And I love it, love it so much I actually have some theme songs that go with it. It also doesn’t follow the original that much, so I guess it might count as semi-original.

I don’t know. I still want a completely original story for NaNo, but this fanfic might be a better option if that doesn’t pan out.

Kawaii_noir_by_a_little_kitty

Image by A-Little-Kitty

Leave a Reply

